AI rendition of the Scottish Highlands

The Stravager

The aimless wanderings of my mind

About this Blog

Life Before The Internet

Sometimes, when I get curious, I go to wikipedia and look stuff up and fall into a rabbit hole of hyperlinked articles that starts with finding out what that weird minty looking weed in my driveway is and ends up reading theories on what, or who, killed Alexander the Great. (Spoiler alert: it wasn’t the minty looking weed). I remember the days when I would have had to go to the public library on my bike, look up plants in the Encyclopedia Britannica, search for that specific plant…. who am I kidding? There would be no way to just look it up. I would have had to find a botanist. Or ask my dad. I could just call him up…no… we didn’t have cell phones.

So, I am coming to the realization that us Gen Xers are from the dark ages. But I do remember BBS. Raise your hand if you remember that.

Daily writing prompt
Do you remember life before the internet?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started