AI rendition of the Scottish Highlands

The Stravager

The aimless wanderings of my mind

About this Blog

Not

I can’t find a satisfactory definition of the word “spirituality” that would fit with my scientific way of looking at the world. The idea that we are more than just the sum or our parts, to me, would be hubris if I actually believed in the literal meaning of that word. Our minds are complex and there are so many possible explanations for the spiritual and supernatural experiences we have that I can’t do what I see as taking the easy way out and assigning it to a soul or a spirit. I think we can have a connection to the world, to a thing we call Mother Earth without resorting to the short cut of spirituality.

When I talk to my friends and they say they don’t believe in “God” but they believe in some form of spiritual connection to the universe that transcends religion, I just have a sip of my beer and nod. But I never really understand.

Daily writing prompt
How important is spirituality in your life?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started